Posted by: abbiewatters | January 13, 2011

This and That

Someone started a thread on Facebook saying that Trinitarians needed to be careful and give Jesus as much credit as they gave God.  Of course, that set me RIGHT off, and I weighed in in support of the Holy Spirit.  Then someone else had the nerve to say “Father, Son, and Holy Spirit all in one – and He is God.”  And that set me off again, correcting to “Creator, Redeemer, and Sustainer all in one and SHE is God.”  The battle rages on! ;-)  I got a nice little bruhaha started with the gender question.  I suppose men don’t have any problem relating to a male God, and they don’t understand how a woman might have such a problem.  Sigh…

Yahoo! News had a very balanced comparison between Palin’s Facebook post yesterday and Obama’s Speech last night.  I tend to agree with the author.

Ryan Kemp_Pappen wrote a really nice poem that I think you’ll enjoy.  The last line could be changed to any group that we fear/hate/dislike/disregard.

I finished my second book.  I’ve started listing the books I read with a short review (“This was good.”  “Don’t waste your time.”) for each one, on a separate page.  I think I’ll take a break from Jack Reacher for a bit and read the new book by Jay Bakker “Fall to Grace.”  He’s the son of Jim and Tammie Bakker.  I’ve heard good things about the book, and I’m interested to read it.  I also have “Nudges” by Leonard Sweet sitting on the shelf (wasn’t available for the Nook).  Sweet is coming in February for our church officer’s training.  I really need to have it read by then.

I saw this quotation today…

Joy is a defiant “Nevertheless!”… And where there is pain and suffering, pain is a defiant “Nevertheless I will rejoice.” ~Karl Barth 

I’m still pondering this.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 743 other followers

