Posted by: abbiewatters | May 8, 2011

Mother’s Day, Diets, etc.

Today is Mother’s Day and several of us on The Well Written Woman contributed a few memories of our mothers. You should check it out.

I’ve been conflicted about whether I should write about my diet or my wonderful dinner and Mother’s Day presents. So I decided to do both. On the diet front – I lost another 2 pounds this week. That brings my total to 19 pounds gone! (I shudder to think what today’s lunch did to that total, but that’s to be seen next week.)

My mother’s day started out great last Friday with a gift (that’s right, something he went to the store and bought and mailed himself) from Bill in Louisiana.

It’s a “Perfect Tea-Maker” from Teavana, and he also sent a gift card so I could buy whichever exotic tea I wanted. I think I’m going to try a “fruity” tea first, followed by a “spice” flavor.

Then yesterday, the doorbell rang and there was the florist with a wrist corsage from Big Al for me to wear to church and dinner on the actual day.

Then after church today we went to Lavendou our favorite French restaurant in Dallas.

The interior is like a french country cafe.

For starters we each had an onion and bacon tart. (I’m terrible about remembering to take a picture of my food before it’s half gone! – but it’s soooo good!)

We got to sit right by the window, where we could imaging we were on the patio without having to melt or be blown away!

For the main course, I had chicken breast in a cabernet sauce with pearl onions and mushrooms and linguini.

and Big Al had salmon in a mustard cream sauce.

I decided to leave my flowers on the table where I could look at them, rather than on my wrist where I would be sure to drip olive oil on them.

Our waiter was wonderful, and spoke English with a real French accent (not Spanish or Mexican as is so often the case in Dallas – not that there’s anything wrong with a Spanish or Mexican accent, just not at a French restaurant). 

Finally, for dessert, I had the Chocolate Fondant (which was really more like fudge than cake – and wonderful. I haven’t had any chocolate since I started the diet, so I thought I’d died and gone to heaven.)

and Big Al had the Cherries Jubilee (you can see he got to eating on his before I could take a picture, too).

Now do you see why I’m looking forward to bread and water for the rest of the week?  But, man, was it good.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 747 other followers

