Posted by: abbiewatters | February 1, 2014

Provide

As you may remember, my one word for the year is “Provide”.

As you also may remember, I finally decided to do something about my weight. To that end, I am enrolled in a medically supervised weight loss program, that I’ve written about here, here and here.

The major way I’m providing during this period is by trying to be sure Big Al is eating. He is unimpressed with the vegetables that are the basis of this diet. He is also dedicated to things like

Capture

red beans and rice with sausages,

Capture

and bratwurst with sauerkraut and little red potatoes.

I probably don’t need to tell you that the doctor and the dietician visibly paled when I suggested either of these meals. To them, sausages are, by definition, highly processed, loaded with salt (and don’t even mention the salt content of sauerkraut) and generally POISON!

Consequently, I’ve been fixing meals that I have to eat and he’s beginning to look a little sad at meal times. So I PROVIDE him with occasional comfort food. For the most part, he’s been a pretty good sport about it, but he almost rebelled today when I presented him with broiled fish, asparagus, and broccoli. He refused the broccoli, and I gave him a can of corn, so he’s a little happier.

It’s best I can do for him right now, and he has admitted he’s lost a couple of pounds, even while consuming an entire bag of barbecued potato chips in one sitting.

It’s a pain to cook two meals, but I do it occasionally, because I’ve promised to try to PROVIDE this year.

photo credits: Flickr creative commons

and Flickr creative commons

Responses

  1. […] about some of my woes trying to feed me in a diet-friendly way, and still feed Big Al what he wants here. That was February 1st, and then I basically went […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 746 other followers

