Posted by: abbiewatters | May 17, 2011

At #UNCO11

I got up a about 8:15 this morning, although according to my body it was 7:15 and took a long, hot shower. It felt really good, since I hadn’t had a chance to shower for several days. I have a nice room here at Stony Point Conference Center. Janet Bohren and I were originally scheduled to be roommates, but when we got here, our names had been left off the list. The nice lady at the desk found us a room in a building that wasn’t being used, but when we got over there it turned out the room had one double bed. We are both old ladies and are not used to sleeping with anyone but our husbands, so we were stretching it to room together, much less share a bed. They had plenty of rooms, though, so they left me in the double bed and gave Janet another room with two twin beds. It turned out really very well. The bathroom and toilet are down the hall, but there are three shower rooms and three toilets, so we have our pick and there’s nobody else here so there’s no conflict on who gets to use the shower first. 🙂

I confess I was late for breakfast and missed worship this morning, but I figured I was entitled. I also didn’t go to the breakout session. Most of the participants here are pastors and were very interested in talking about things like BiVocational Ministry and Reimagining the Sacraments.  I took that opportunity to write my blog for yesterday.

In the second hour I went to Lay Ministry for Lay People. It was very interesting to hear what everyone else thought. We agreed that most ministers assume anyone working in the church REALLY wants to be ordained, and those of us in the room agreed that we didn’t really care about ordination. Hopefully one of the outcomes of nFOG, if passed, will be a greater valuation of Ruling Elders by Teaching Elders.

After lunch I attended a session on Volunteers v. Disciples. We talked about how to help move folks along who thought of themselves as volunteers and help them start thinking of themselves as Disciples. We did agree though that God is the one who is in the business of making Disciples. What we really need to do is get out of Her way.

The final session of the day I sat in a group with Margaret Aymer Oget who wrote the Presbyterian Women’s study for next year of the Beatitudes. I think if the women in PW take it seriously, it will end up changing the church, and maybe changing the world. It’s going to be very powerful.

I then stopped in on the Prayer Stations and talked to some kids about Praying in Color.  They seemed to enjoy it, and were very interested to see my notebook.

I’m now going to supper. The food here is amazing. The Center grows most of its own vegetables, and bakes its own bread, so we’ve eaten responsibly as well as tastily.

Responses

  1. […] via At #UNCO11 – No Longer “Not Your Grandfather’s CPA”. […]

    Like

  2. […] Becky Durham: Before, Church, The Process, Kid Unco Abbie Watters: On My Way, Arriving and Arrival, At, and Leaving. MB McCandless has an Unco tab on her site. Here are her pre-unco words. Please watch […]

    Like

  3. […] via At #UNCO11 – No Longer “Not Your Grandfather’s CPA”. […]

    Like

  4. […] Becky Durham: Before, Church, The Process, Kid Unco Abbie Watters: On My Way, Arriving and Arrival, At, and Leaving. MB McCandless has an Unco tab on her site. Here are her pre-unco words. Please watch […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

