Posted by: abbiewatters | July 31, 2011

Me as a Child

Did you have any pets? – We had a blond cocker spaniel when I was really little, named Taffy. Then we had a black cocker spaniel named Ebony when we lived in California. I had a hamster for about a year in grade school, and we had a bird when we lived in California. And off and on there were small bowls of fish who usually died of starvation or over-feeding.

What did you like to eat as a child? – My favorite of all times was and is Fried Chicken.

What did you do for fun? – I loved to read and to be read to. Books were my favorite toys. I also loved to listen to adults talk, even when I didn’t know what they were talking about. I had dolls and liked to play with them. I also played dress-up with Mama’s and Nannie’s old clothes. I loved to play with paper dolls. We played card games and board games, a lot.

Did you ever have a secret place or a favorite hiding spot? – No, not really. I loved to play house under the bushes at Nannie’s though. She had a huge hedge of spiria between her house and the Dudney’s who lived next door. Donna Dudney was a good friend and we had a tunnel under the spiria bushes that we used to go back and forth. It also made a wonderful play house.

What did you wear? – I wore dresses to school. The only time I wore shorts or pants was during the summer and occasionally after school. Nannie made most of my dresses for school until I was in 4th grade. She was able to look a pictures in magazines and make dresses for me just like the pictures.

Here I am in kindergarten. Nannie made that dress.

This is me in first grade. Nannie made that dress, too.

This is me on my 6th birthday. I was a cowgirl.

Here I am at age 7 in second grade.

And here I am the next year, still wearing the same dress.

Responses

  1. So cute! i need to get out my childhood pics and get them saved before it is too late.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

