Posted by: abbiewatters | August 1, 2011

More about Me as a Child

Did you get an allowance? How much? – Yes, when I was in 4th grade I started getting an allowance. I got $.50 a week, and half of that went in my envelope for Sunday School.

Did you spend it right away, or save it? What did you buy? – I usually saved it until I had enough to buy something a little bigger – a book, or a game. If I spent it right away, I usually spent it on candy or snacks at the little store.

What responsibilities did you have at home when you were young? – I was the oldest sister, so I was responsible for helping herd the younger ones. I was “supposed” to keep my room cleaned up, and help watch Betty and Harriet. When I was 11 years old, Bill was born, and I helped with washing and hanging out his diapers. Mama also taught me to cook when I was in 4th or 5th grade, and I made breakfast on Saturday mornings, and helped make lunch and supper. I also had to set and clear the table. We had a VERY OLD-FASHIONED dishwasher, and about that time, I learned how to rinse the dishes and load it.

What kind of school did you go to? – After kindergarten, I went to public school.

Were you a good student? – I was a terrible student, but I got really good grades. No kudos to me – I never tried, and I never studied – I just have a fly paper brain.

What was your favorite subject? – I liked reading and history, mostly because I lived a lot in my own head – not unlike my older son, Ray.

What was your least favorite subject? – I didn’t like anything that I had to work at – I was basically lazy. I did fine in arithmetic once I finally learned my multiplication tables, but I suffered through memorizing them.

Who were your friends? – My friends were mostly kids from the neighborhood (and I lived in several different neighborhoods). I was in Brownies and Girl Scouts when we lived in California.

During the summer at Nannie and Gankie’s house in Texarkana, my friends were my cousins and children from their church. They were the only people I knew for more than 3 years at a time.

The cousins and me cooling off in the summer at Nannie and Gankie’s when we were 3 and 4 years old.

My 6th birthday party in Texarkana, with the cousins and various kids from the church.

The cousins and sisters with our dolls on Christmas Day,  1952.

Who was your favorite teacher and why? – I liked all my teachers about the same. None of them made enough of an impression on me for me to remember their names. I do remember when we were in California, in 5th and 6th grades I had two men for teachers. That was the first time I knew that men could BE teachers.

Responses

  1. Why on earth do you suppose we were wearing bathing caps in the “3 girls in a tub” pic???
    Please keep up the blogwork — Mimi and I are loving it! Anne

    Like

    • We always were wearing bathing caps if we were going to get wet. That was before I had my first permanent, so that wasn’t the reason. Go figure!

      Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

