Posted by: abbiewatters | August 2, 2011

Vacations

How did you spend your summer holidays? – We usually (every other year) went to Nannie and Gankie’s and stayed at least 2 months (particularly after we moved to California and when we lived in New Jersey). The alternate years, we stayed home and hosted them, and the cousins.

What were your favorite summer activities? – I went to Church Camp several years, and a couple of times to Girl Scout Camp. We also spent at least a week at Little River Country Club the years we were in Texarkana.

I was three-years-old when I caught my first fish.

I was 4 years old when I caught this one.

And here I was 5 years old.

There we also played in the river, played cards, and hung out.

Here Harriet has joined me with the fish. I think I was 7 years old and Harriet was 3.

And here’s Harriet and me with the cousins getting ready to go fishing.

Where did your family go on vacations? – We stopped and sight-saw (is that even a word?) on the way to and/or from Texarkana.

This is half-way up Pike’s Peak on the way to California from Texarkana when we first moved out there. We had hardly ever seen snow, and even though it was summer, it snowed, and we couldn’t get all the way to the top.

Miss Robbie Norris came to visit us in California, and we took a trip through the Giant Sequoia’s.

We visited the Grand Canyon, going back to California one year.

And we stopped in Disneyland on the way to Texarkana, the next year.

And between my Junior and Senior year in High School, I went to Europe for 6 weeks with my Girl Scout Troop.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

