Posted by: abbiewatters | August 7, 2011

College and University

Did you go to university or college? How did you decide what you wanted to study? – I went to Texarkana College (a junior college) where I took general basic requirements and music. I graduated from there with an Associate of Arts Degree with a major in Music in August of 1964. I took music because it was something that I liked, and I loved being in the choir. We toured around Texas and sang in high schools in all the little towns around there, and that was a lot of fun. Then I went to Stephen F. Austin State College in Nacogdoches, TX, for two years until I quit in the middle of my 4th semester because I had a baby and became deathly ill with gall bladder problems.

My husband, Big Al, sent me back to Westfield with the new baby because he was in his last year of his degree and we were afraid he wouldn’t graduate if he had to take care of both of us. My mother and father got me off of the plane, I spent one night at their house, and they put me in the hospital, where my gall bladder was removed a week later.

Al was able to graduate in May, 1965 (note the slim, sylph-like me. That was the least I ever weighed since I was 12 years old. And all it took was major surgery and a 3-week stay in the hospital).

In 1970, while Big Al was in Vietnam and Thailand, I took Ray with me when I went back to SFA and did a semester of practice teaching. Then in 1974, I decided I would have to go back at least one more semester, and graduate, and if it was ever going to happen, it was then. By that time we had Billy (born in 1972) as well as Ray, but I took Ray with me to Nacogdoches, and left Billy with Al in Alexandria, LA. He could use the base nursery for Billy and Ray could go to 2nd grade in Nacogdoches. Al then got an extended TDY to Hawaii (what a shame) and left Billy with me. I found a babysitter to keep him while I was in class. I didn’t care at that point what I was studying as long as I was able to get a degree. My advisor figured out if I could take and pass 24 hours that semester, including an entire teaching major in History of 18 hours, I could graduate.

So I did, and I graduated in May, 1974 with a Bachelor of Fine Arts in Music, with a double teaching major in music and history.

Then, in 1995, when Bill graduated from college, he suggested that I go back to school and get a master’s degree. He thought he wanted to be a lawyer and he wanted me to take the LSAT so he could find out what it was like. I didn’t care anything about being a lawyer, but according to my Myers-Briggs test, accounting was the career for me, so I took the GMAT, and got into the Masters program at Angelo State University in San Angelo, TX. I took a whole year of “leveling” courses (because I had never taken any business or math courses at all in college) and then a year’s worth of graduate level courses in Business and Accounting and got a Master of Business Administration in Accounting.

I took my final exams on Monday and Tuesday, drove to Ft. Worth and took my CPA exam on Wednesday and Thursday and graduated on Friday night in May, 1997.

Responses

  1. During the concert tour with the Texarkana College choir Abbie won the coveted “Pink potty award.”

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

