Posted by: abbiewatters | August 16, 2011

Thoughts about My Kids

(These people are really starting to poke around in the private parts of my life now! 🙂 )

How did you feel about raising your children? – I’m not real sure what’s being asked here. Raising my children is not something I felt anything about. It was something I was expected to do, and I did the best I could. I never went through any major rebellion against my parents, so when my children came along I tried to raise them the way my parents raised me.

Did I sometimes wish I had more freedom? Of course.

Did I sometimes wish they were grown already? Sure.

Did I sometimes think they were growing up too fast? Often.

What was the best part of raising your kids? – The best part was seeing them begin to step out on their own. I tried to give them age-appropriate freedom to fail, and I was always so pleased to see them begin to do things for themselves, and to hear them begin to think for themselves.

What was the hardest part of raising your kids? – I guess the hardest part was having to sometimes be the only parent, and sometimes share parenting responsibility. With Big Al’s job, he was often gone for long stretches at a time. When he was gone, I was THE parent. I made all the decisions – all the discipline fell to me – all the day-to-day interaction was on my shoulders. When he was home, he expected to step in and share in the decisions (or sometimes make them without checking to see if I had already made a contradictory one). He expected to share in the discipline on his terms, not necessarily on the terms that the kids and I had already worked out. And it was hard for me to suddenly share in the cuddling, and fun times when I had had them all to myself.

What makes you proud of your children? – They are both reasonably happy, content, functioning members of society who value themselves, other people, and Big Al and me as parents.

(You can tell from this post that I’m very much of an ISTJ – particularly “J”. If you don’t know what I’m talking about look up Myers-Briggs and read about my type.)

Leave a Reply

Categories

