Posted by: abbiewatters | September 2, 2011

The Ages of Woman – 20’s

(Sorry I missed out yesterday – no excuse – I just ran out of time.)

What do you remember about your 20’s? – My 20’s were my growing up years. I went off to “live away” college when I was 19.

I married when I was 20 years old (almost 21).

Ray was born when I was 21 1/2 years old.

I had my gall bladder removed (only major surgery of my life) when I was 21 years old.

Big Al graduated from college when I was 21.

Al went back in the Air Force, and we moved to Denver when I was 22 years old. We also got our first brand-new car then.

When I was almost 23 years old, we moved to Germany.

While we were in Germany, we got our first doggy – a long-haired dachshund named Clarke.

When I was 25 1/2, Al went to Thailand, and I lived with my parents again for 6 months.

Then for my 26th birthday, I met Al in Hawaii for 2 weeks of R&R.

Then, that fall, I returned to SFA to do my practice teaching. I lived in a little house in Nacogdoches by myself with Ray. Thankfully I spent the weekends in Texarkana, because I was terrified every night alone in the house. But I made it through.

Al came home when I was 26 1/2, and we moved to Alexandria. I had to get used to having someone else around all the time, because, as much as I had missed him, I had learned that I could be self-sufficient.

When I was 28 1/2, Bill arrived.

Shortly after that, we bought our first house in Alexandria, and I got my first “real” job. It was only part-time, but I was a professional Girl Scout.

And when I was 29, I went back to SFA, and finally graduated three months before my 30th birthday.

And that’s the story of my 20’s in a nutshell. Stay tuned to hear about my 30’s, my 40’s, my 50’s, and as far as I’ve gotten in my 60’s.

Leave a Reply

Categories

