Posted by: abbiewatters | September 11, 2011

Life Lessons and Legacies

I’ve come to the last section of the Legacy Project. This section looks like it’s going to be a lot about feelings and philosophies. Buckle up!

What’s your most cherished family tradition? – Probably Sunday dinner at noon.

Why is it important? – It harks way back to my childhood at my grandparent’s house. There our big meal was always in the middle of the day. My grandmother’s cook came in the morning and went home after the lunch dishes were finished. My grandfather came home from the bank for dinner at noon. On Saturdays they always had guests for dinner (at noon). In my parents’ house, we had lunch and then our big dinner at night because we didn’t come home from school for lunch, and Papa worked far enough away that he couldn’t drive back and forth. Nevertheless, we always had DINNER on Sunday after church. Mama would fix a roast (in the oven during church) or fry chicken (as soon as we got home), and we would eat right around 1:00 p.m. Then, bellies full, we would play quiet games and the adults would nap. Sunday evenings were devoted to Fellowship at the church for those in junior high or high school.

After I married, we would go “out” to dinner after church. Then when we came home, we could change out of our nice clothes, and relax for the afternoon and evening. Big Al and I still “self-forage” for supper on Sunday nights. Even though we are usually both together during the day, now, lunch is at noon during the week and when I cook dinner, it’s in the evening.

Dinner in the middle of the day on Sunday helps set that day off from the rest of the week.

What have you liked best about your life so far? – Having had the opportunity to live all over the country and the world. I love to travel, and I’m thankful we have been able to indulge in it as much as we have.

(Yeah, I know the map’s out of date…)

What’s your happiest or proudest moment? – My proudest moment was when I learned I had passed all parts of the CPA exam the first time. Comparatively few people do that, and I had worked hard to make it happen.

My happiest moments were when my grandchildren were born.

Ian Thomas Watters – February 10, 1998

Kate Elizabeth Watters – April 18, 2002

Responses

  1. Hi, Abbie! These posts are super! I need to go back and read them all….might even try to see if I can compose something similar…
    Love these glimpses into your story…and the pictures!
    Take care, and check in when you can!
    Loving you…Ann & Co.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

