Posted by: abbiewatters | September 12, 2011

Successes and Failures

(They’re beginning to go to meddling…)

What do you feel have been the important successes in your life? –

  • My marriage – I feel like 46 years in the same marriage qualifies as a success. Not always wine and roses, but reasonably happy, and now content.

  • My children – happy, healthy, contributing members of society.

  • My CPA license –

What are the most important frustrations? – Not figuring out what I wanted to do with my life until it was almost too late, not being able to sell this house and move on into retirement.

What’s the most difficult thing that ever happened to you? – Having Al be RIFed, and living the last 4 years of his Air Force career on about half the money. (I’ve talked about some of my angst here.)

How did you deal with it? – I sucked it up, got a job, and tried not to let my unhappiness at our situation spill over into our relationship and our marriage. I guess I succeeded because here we still are – married and content – almost 30 years later, but it still rankles.

What do you think the turning points have been in your life? Al’s going to Southeast Asia, Al’s RIF, my decision to go back to school for my Accounting degree.

What were you like then? –

  • Before Al went to Southeast Asia, I was timid and indecisive. I was afraid to live by myself, and I was afraid to drive by myself. When he was sent overseas, I didn’t have any choice but to begin to depend on myself. During that year, I drove across country from New Jersey to Texarkana a couple of times, and went back to school, living all week in a small house alone with just 4-year-old Ray.

  • Before Al’s RIF, I was a typical, bored officer’s wife – playing bridge, stuffing the kids in the nursery, and kvetching about the cattiness of other wives (like I was so blameless). Afterwards, I was working a full 8-hour day, 5 days a week, and still trying to run the house and take care of the kids. I learned to enjoy the time I had. And I learned to enjoy the satisfaction of a job well done.

  • Before deciding to go back to school and get my MBA, I was VERY unhappy living in Abilene with no job, and no anticipation of getting one. I was also suffering from empty nest syndrome, with both kids gone, and Al very much engrossed in hanging on to his job in an increasingly hostile environment. Afterwards, I again got the satisfaction of accomplishment by making good grades and passing the CPA exam. I was also able to get a decent job in Dallas, which encouraged Al to retire, and leave the Air Force for good.

(Don’t you love the way I’m leading him around by the ear?)

Responses

  1. I also have feeling and i love to continue my education specially my field is also accounting and i love that.

    Regards
    Rachel Scott

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

