Posted by: abbiewatters | September 13, 2011

Influences

Are there times of your life that you remember more vividly than others? Why? – I suppose there are incidents that I remember if I think about it. I do remember trips that we’ve taken, and people we’ve visited. Having pictures really helps, although I’m the world’s worst about remembering to take photos (or in the old days, get them developed.)

What have been the most influential experiences in your life? – I suppose having Harriet give me the Myers-Briggs(R) test,

and realizing that my MBTI of ISTJ meant I should be an accountant is the MOST influential experience. That test was very important to me because it helped me realize that many of the things that I liked to do were what I was MEANT to do, even though they weren’t considered culturally acceptable for women/girls. The other test that was influential was the TDf inventory,

and realizing that people thought of me as a big F – little D, when in reality I was a big T – little F. Understanding the reason was that my mother valued F, and devalued T, and in an effort to be liked and loved, I had “put on” traits that didn’t fit me.

Describe a person or situation from your childhood that had a profound effect on the way you look at life.  – My maternal grandmother was probably the most influential person.

 

She was sweet and kind, and always made the people she was with feel like the most important people in her world. She always thought the best of everyone, and, while she always had nice things and a comfortable life, the people she was around were more important than the things. I remember one of her favorite sayings was “You can’t raise children and flowers, too.” Although she had a beautiful garden that she worked hard on and in, we never got in trouble if we stepped on a flower or dug under the bushes. And that is just symptomatic of her attitude towards other people. I don’t always succeed, but I try to also model that.

Responses

  1. She was the very essence of what a grandmother should be. I remember my own sweet Mama saying that she hoped that her grandchildren would love her as much as Nannie’s loved her (they did!)

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

