Posted by: abbiewatters | September 16, 2011

Change and Advice

Over time, how have you changed the way you look at life/people? – I’ve become more and more realistic (some would say cynical) in the way I look at people as I’ve aged. I’m pretty intuitive about people’s motives and future actions, and I’ve come to realize more and more that “People are no damned good.” All else being equal and without some external stimulus to the contrary, people will try to get away with anything and everything with very little remorse. That’s one of the reasons I believe we need moral government regulations, because people will lie, cheat, steal, and harm others if they think they have a chance. That’s also the main reason I think we need a strong, progressive tax code, because without it, most people will NOT help those who are less fortunate than themselves. I also believe that I’m the only one who is or can be responsible for my actions. I try not to blame other folks or circumstances for problems in my life, and, if I don’t like something in my life, I believe it’s up to me to change it.

What advice did your grandparents or parents give you that you remember best? – I’ve already said that Nannie taught me “You can’t raise children and flowers, too.” They also taught me to keep my nose out of other people’s business. I’m the one who is responsible to end disagreements by apologizing (even if I don’t think I did anything wrong) and moving on. “If you can’t say something nice, don’t say nothin’ at all.” “Do justice, love kindness, and walk humbly with your God.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

