Posted by: abbiewatters | October 24, 2011

A Singularly Frustrating and Unproductive Day

I got up this morning intending to spend the day (if necessary) hanging on hold with Quicken Customer Service. I updated my Quicken software last week, and it is so messed up, it’s almost unusable.  Talk about frustrating. They have obviously done something to “improve” it, but with my file (which I admit is pretty large) it is taking me almost an hour to do a few simple tasks that used to take me only 10 minutes or so. I enter a number and it wanders off into the wild blue yonder. Couple that with the fact that I’m attempting to move my money from Bank of America to USAA Bank, and you can see why I was about ready to teach the computer to fly last Friday.

Anyway, before I could even get started on that, I got a call that I had forgotten to do something for my one little bookkeeping client, and it had to be done sooner rather than later. So I trekked to his office and tried to send his Quickbooks file to his CPA so they could deal with his Payroll taxes before the end of the month. When I tried to send the file, I found out it was too big to send via “You Send-It” unless I upgraded the service and agreed to pay $9.99 a month. We send one file, once a quarter, so that seemed excessive. I spent an extra half hour trying to figure out a way to get that done. It looks like we’ll have to put it on a thumb-drive and mail it or carry it over there. Groan…

So I left there and went to the grocery store, got my groceries, and came home to fix lunch. While we were eating, I got a call from the Realtor’s Listing Service, asking if someone could show the house between 6:00 and 7:00 this evening. I said, “OK”, but then when I finished lunch, I had to scurry around and finish picking up the house and make the bed and file the mail so the place looked presentable.

I also had plans to call USAA Bank and finish with whatever needed to be done to get those accounts up and running. But now, here it is 3:30 in the afternoon and I’m still listening to the music at Quicken, and nothing else has gotten done. Lord knows when I’ll get to talk to somebody.

It makes me CRAZY!

Leave a Reply

Categories

