Posted by: abbiewatters | December 16, 2011

Expecting the Word – Advent Three – Friday

My Advent series this year will follow the Words Matter Advent study from the National Council of Churches. Download the whole booklet if you’d like, and follow along with the writings for each day. I’d love to discuss them with you. Also, here is a link to the Advent readings from the Inclusive Bible. I prefer the more inclusive language here, than the NRSV texts used in the study booklet (be sure to read the note on page 6).

John 1:6-8, 19-28

Oh, my! Apparently, I have arrived. I’ve been called out by the uber-conservative Voices of Orthodox Women, apparently for associating with Margaret Aymer, Katie Mulligan, and Sonnie Swenston-Forbes in the formation of Presbyterian Women Interest Group on Facebook and for writing an article about it in Horizons. I feel a little like John the Baptist in the scripture today – I’m not worthy to untie these women’s sandals.

These women are loving, forward-looking, Christians who have been, and are, actively working toward full equality both inside and outside the church for our LGBT sisters and brothers.

I have a firm rule, not to feed the trolls in Social Media, so I won’t respond in any way to Viola’s comments, but she did provide many of us with several hours of hilarity when she suggested that I was personally a danger to Orthodoxy! Of particular interest was the suggestion that this was all hatched up as a plot in secrecy. It led to a suggestion that we all learn how to knit super-secret underwear at the next UNCO gathering.

My grandchildren might be interested to learn that I am a closet lesbian, intent on marrying a new wife as soon as I can get rid of their grandfather.

(I am deliberately not linking to their article because I would hate to be the source of driving up their hit count and making them think they were more important than they really are.)

Leave a Reply

Categories

