Posted by: abbiewatters | December 1, 2012

Advent – 2012

Advent begins tomorrow. I just realized that I’ve done a series on the blog for advent for the last several years. I also realized that I don’t have anything to use as cue cards. Apparently Words Matter has taken its Advent Devotional booklet off the website, but luckily I still have a copy in .pdf format. So if y’all don’t mind, I’ll be using it again this year.

I know I’ve been a real slacker about posting for a long time. We are still in liminal space (a tiny one-bedroom apartment) waiting for more permanent living quarters, and I haven’t been in a mental place to post much, if anything, on the blog. Anyway, with the new year will come a move to our duplex. It has been vacated by the previous tenants and we’ve picked our colors of paint, and rugs, and now we’re waiting (again) for the work to be completed. Apparently it will be some time in January, but with the end in sight, I’m in a little better place, emotionally.

We have actually “eaten out” enough that I’m seriously considering cooking again (maybe not all the time, but sometimes).

We got the Christmas decorations out yesterday, and I’m scrabbling around trying to find some place to put everything. At least I know when we pack up Christmas, it will be for the move to the duplex.

Tomorrow is Bethany Presbyterian’s 25th annual Fair-Trade Christmas Market. I’ll be sitting at the table for donations to the Food Bank. It will be fun and I think it’s a real help for the vendors, as well as for the community to remember that it’s possible to do good while giving gifts. Heifer, International, will be there along with vendors of items made by folks in third world countries, fair-trade coffee and tea, and things made by local charitable organizations. I’m excited.

Happy Advent, and a Merry Christmas to all my gentle readers.

Responses

  1. I’m glad you’re back! And GREAT news about the first of the year move. As much as I love Jeff Carr I think that living together in a one-bedroom apartment might just lead us to a “gingham dog & calico cat” scenario. Love, Anne

    Like

  2. Abbie, since I haven’t had the honor of reading your Advent meditations previously, it won’t bother me! LOL

    A suggestion for cooking . . . . crockpot. This is going to be my new go to for the week. Never seem to get home before 6 or 6:30.

    An aging hippie from the left coast . . . nice title.

    Grace and peace,

    Lisa

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

