Posted by: abbiewatters | January 3, 2013

Easing back into a routine after the holidays

Yesterday, I started easing back into my exercise routine that was first interrupted by my trip to Louisiana in early November, and later sabotaged by Thanksgiving, cold weather, and Christmas.

For the early part of the fall I tried to spend some time every day in the Wellness Center. There is an exercise room with all kinds of exercise equipment, including treadmills, weight machines, and ellipticals. I try to hit the machine room on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays. I particularly like the seated stepper that works both arms and legs. Before I left in November, I was able to do a mile and a half in about a half an hour. I find, now, that I’m back to doing a mile in that length of time, but I’ll gradually work back up. It’s a good aerobic workout, which is what I need in my current state of couch potato-ness.

On Tuesday and Thursday, I take Tai Chi. I took Tai Chi many, many, many, many, many years ago, but I’ve found that a lot of it comes back to me. I really like it because it helps with centering myself, and staying aware of my body and what needs to be worked on (everything!). I was in the beginner class through the fall, and I’m going to try to move up to the more advance class. I’ll probably still go to the beginners class for the exercise, and observe and gradually work into the more advanced class. It’s great for balance, joint suppleness, and keeping stretched out in this cold, damp weather.

On Tuesday afternoons, we play bridge here in the Garden Apartments. When we move over to the duplexes we’ll probably continue to come back here for our weekly game. There’s also a game on Mondays and Thursdays at the Senior Center in town. We haven’t started attending that yet, but we may later. They run a bus over there, so we could go even it the weather is bad and we don’t want to drive.

On Wednesday evenings, I go to Centering Prayer group at Bethany Presbyterian Church. I’ve been really lax about keeping up with my praying in color and other spiritual disciplines that I had begun to develop in Dallas. I hope to get back to coloring when I finally get a desk that I can work at. My desk right now is only a holder for my monitors with a pull-out keyboard drawer, so I really don’t have any room to draw, color, or write.

Of course, we go to church on Sunday mornings, and I led a course on Sunday evenings on the Beatitudes this fall. I’m going to try to get up early enough to start going to Sunday School before church because they’ve asked me to teach a series from this year’s PW Horizon’s on “Letters to God’s Household” (First and Second Peter, First, Second, and Third John, and Jude.) That will happen after Easter until the end of school.

There are always trips to various places around the area, and “talks” by people from the colleges and universities on topics of interest. Once a month the Tacoma Historical Society presents a program on some tidbit of information about the local area. In a couple of weeks they will take a bus to an afternoon matinee of the movie “Hyde Park on Hudson”. There’s also a “Lunch Bunch” that takes the bus to an interesting restaurant in the area once a month or so. Tomorrow, we’re going to Gateway Cottage – it’s supposed to be a really nice “Tea Room” that serves lunches.

We had the guy from the movers in this morning to give us an estimate on how much it will cost to move us across the campus. It’ll be pricey, but at least we won’t have to schlep it ourselves.

Life moves on!

Leave a Reply

Categories

