Posted by: abbiewatters | January 8, 2013

Genealogy and Blogging

Apparently, I was already doing something that I should have been doing for my genealogy. Ancestry.com suggests that you put “Cousin Bait” on your blog. Maybe I’ll create another page for that. I have a couple of dead-ends in my family search, so there’s always a chance somebody will be Googling, or Binging for relatives and turn up here. (But I’ll wait for another day to do that.)

I really fell down on keeping up with my page about Book I Read last year. I think I gave up on it in mid-summer, if I made it that far. I got to reading on a couple of really heavy tomes, and I wasn’t that interested on inflicting them on y’all. And once you’ve skipped something in a list, it’s awfully hard to go back and stuff something in the middle. I got to be afraid I would forget one of the books and then, it just all left me.

Anyway, right now, I’m reading Barbara Kingsolver’s newest book, Flight Behavior.

Capture

I had forgotten how much I liked her writing. It seems like I always forget between books, and then I wonder why I don’t read things from her more often. Of course, I read everything she writes as soon as she writes it, so I guess I read her as often as possible.

We have finally gotten a tentative date for moving to the duplex – sometime during the week of January 21st. Of course, it will probably freeze and snow that week, but I’m hoping not!

We’ve been watching Midsomer Murders, on streaming Netflix. If you’re desperate for something to watch in this time of the doldrums on TV, I heartily recommend it. Each episode is about an hour and forty-five minutes long, so you can slip it into a time when you are waiting for a new edition of Parenthood. Big Al isn’t interested in Downton Abbey (I know, sacrilege), so I get my England fix with this show. It was filmed in Oxfordshire, so the people and the scenery are very familiar to us.

I haven’t seen any of the new movies that are getting all the buzz – Les Miserables, The Hobbit, and Jack Reacher are all on my “as soon as it comes out on video” list. We really haven’t found any theaters here in Tacoma, and I guess that’s a good thing, because Big Al isn’t fond of going to the movies, and I don’t like to go alone.

Leave a Reply

Categories

