Posted by: abbiewatters | March 30, 2013

Roots

Capture

This photo is part of the Lenten Photo-A-Day Challenge.

The 1st Presbyterian Church of Texarkana, AR, is where the ROOTS of my faith were planted. My grandparents were members there, my mother grew up there. There I was first taken to the nursery. I attended Vacation Bible School there in the summers when we would visit my grandparents. I sang in the choir when I was in college. One of the bells in the bell tower is dedicated to my grandparents. I took one of my children there to be baptized by my uncle. I worked there as a Director of Christian Education. My sister and her family are still members there. My parents’ funerals were held there. My ROOTS are deep in the foundations of the church and I make it a point to go back occasionally and water them.

The lectionary passage that spoke especially to me today was from Job 19:25-27

25  For I know that my Redeemer lives,
and that at the last he will stand upon the earth;
26  and after my skin has been thus destroyed,
then in my flesh I shall see God,
27  whom I shall see on my side,
and my eyes shall behold, and not another.

Responses

  1. I love that church! Daily Vacation Bible School was always a high point of summer. And remember the time Gankie had been dispatched to take us to Sunday School, apparently found himself with time on his hands before Christian education was to begin, and took us on a little field trip to the jail? And all the solemn yet joyous funeral services. God’s house, indeed. Happy Easter! Anne

    Like

  2. Looks so much like Bethany. 😉

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

