Posted by: abbiewatters | May 14, 2013

Summer Flowers

I promised this post to you yesterday, but it was so gloomy and rainy and blustery and cold I didn’t even want to go out on the deck to take pictures.  Today is beautiful, so I hope these pictures come out well. They might even be too bright.

I spent the family fortune at the garden store on Saturday, but I got most of these plants then, and got them planted before the weather changed.

IMG_1013

These are cute little fuzzy purple flowers. I have no idea what they are called but I liked them.

IMG_1022 IMG_1018 IMG_1014

These are three lupine that I got about a month ago. I think the first and third ones are going to be blue and the middle one will be white, but we shall see. They were barely seedlings when I brought them home, but I’m assured the deer won’t eat them.

IMG_1016 IMG_1020

These are two daisies of some size, shape or description. I have no idea what color their flowers are going to be, but the top one looks like it’s going to bloom any time now, so I won’t have to wait to long to find out. They also arrived as seedlings about a month ago, and you can see the bottom one got bent over, either in the wind or chasing the sun, at some time in the past. They are also guaranteed to be anathema to deer.

IMG_1015 IMG_1021

These are two new window boxes that are going to be hung up with brackets on the rails. They are mostly verbena, I think, and the deer supposedly don’t like it. They are also supposed to attract butterflies. I have more of it in the hanging baskets.

IMG_1017 IMG_1019

Two more verbena, in blue and red. They spread out all over the place (as you can see) and should be great to fill in around the bottom of other pots.

IMG_1023

This hanging basket was here when we moved in. It was originally filled with all different kinds of succulents, but most of it had died from lack of water while the house was empty. I cleaned a lot of it out and the two tall things grew up from whatever rootstock was left. I added the blue-green and lime-green mounding things. I think they are a relative of Hens and Chickens, but I’m not sure what they are called.

IMG_1025

I got this little pot of viola at the spring Women’s Association meeting for the church. They are thriving!

IMG_1027 IMG_1026

These are two flat bowl-shaped containers that I put begonia, and more verbena in. There also a little white flower that I can’t remember the name of, and there’s more of the dwarf petunias in the bottom bowl. (Yeah, yeah, yeah, I know they aren’t dwarf petunias, but I don’t remember their names either).

I know I said I’d never have begonias again after they were the only things I could grow in the shade in Dallas, but aren’t those flowers the prettiest things you’ve ever seen? I just hope I have enough verbena sprinkled around that the deer won’t be tempted to come up on the deck to nibble the flowers of everything else down to the ground.

Responses

  1. I love that blue pot in your first picture !

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

