Posted by: abbiewatters | June 6, 2013

Birds at my Window

Not enough people signed up to go on the Bingo Cruise yesterday, so we didn’t get a chance to go. And it was a BEAUTIFUL day, and would have been great out on the water.

This afternoon I do my presentations about Birds at my Feeder as part of the Senior University here at Franke Tobey Jones. I’m a little nervous, but I figure I know as much as (or more than) everybody else there. I think it will be pretty good with the pictures I have, and using my iPad app for the sounds each one makes.

As I sit here, I can see a couple of Goldfinch, (One of the Goldfinches is part albino, I think, because he/she is completely white where he/she should be yellow or olive, but it still has the black wing bars.)

Capture

a bunch of Pine Siskins,

Capture

a Robin,

Capture

and a Grosbeak.

Capture

The hummingbird was here earlier (it likes the hanging basket even though I don’t have a hummingbird feeder).

Capture

I haven’t seen the Western Tanager in a couple of days, but I think the pair is still around.

Capture

There are also a bunch of chickadees (both black-capped…

Capture

…and Chestnut-backed). They are so funny. They come to the feeder and nip in a grab a seed, and then fly off to the tree to eat it.

Capture

Those are just the regular visitors my feeder. I also have several kinds of sparrows, the Flicker, and the Stellar’s Jay that I posted about here. All in all, I have over 30 birds that visit my yard, and we see several more in the woods at Point Defiance, and by the Sound.

Leave a Reply

Categories

