Posted by: abbiewatters | August 23, 2013

Whew…

(I thought life was supposed to slow down when you retired…)

Jumped out of the bed this morning at 7:30 (horrors – I usually sleep until 8:30 or 9:00). I had an appointment to get my hair cut at 9:00 and I really didn’t want to miss it. The stylist is a recommendation from someone at church and I liked her very much.

When we were moving out here, I remember my cousin Anne saying she didn’t want to move because she just couldn’t bear having to find a new hairdresser. She thought she would rather change doctors than try to find someone new to cut her hair.

I laughed at her.

I apologize.

I feel her pain.

We’ve been here 14 months and this was the 5th person I’ve had try to cut my hair like I wanted it.

IMG_1091

I think she did an okay job.

IMG_1090

We’ll see how it holds up after it’s washed.

I had no sooner gotten home than it was time to go to the Knitting Club here at Tobey Jones. I’m trying to get the sleeves of a sweater done before it turns cool enough to need it. I should be okay, but I’m pretty bored with the pattern since I’ve used it on the back and both fronts. Thank goodness I decided to do drop sleeves, so I don’t have to worry about the extra 6-8 inches raglan or cap sleeves take.

Then Big Al and I went to lunch at Silk Thai – our favorite Thai restaurant. We’ve neglected them the past couple of months and they were feeling a little bereft without us visiting them.

We got home in time to go to Happy Hour at the Garden Apartments. It’s also been a while since we’ve been over there, and it was good to see everybody and catch up on the news. There are a lot of new residents there since we moved, so it was good to remind ourselves who lived where, etc.

We watched “Jack Reacher” last night, and I was pleasantly surprised. The dialogue was pretty true to the books and Tom Cruise did a very good job as Reacher. BUT, it still suffered from his size. The fight scenes were less believable since he is (comparatively) so slight. But it was a nice way to spend the evening.

Now if I can only get Big Al to take me to see “The Butler.”

Responses

  1. You’re back! I had despaired of ever reading a blog post again, but there you are. And ah, the Tale of the Hairdresser struck home; the woman who does mine is my stylist, my confessor, my therapist, and my friend. And I was so glad to read that you’re going to serve on the Session in your new church. They are lucky to have you. Summer is slip-sliding away here. We leave on our penultimate 2013 NH trip on Tuesday. Jeff’s latest project is building a house here on the farm for Anna and Paul, so that will take most of his attention for the remainder of the year. Glad you and Big Al are enjoying life there in the northwest. Love, Anne

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

