Posted by: abbiewatters | May 4, 2014

Diet Update

It occurs to me that I haven’t told you anything about my diet recently.

Early in April, on a Monday, I received a call from the clinic saying that Multi-Care had cancelled their supervised diet program. I had appointments scheduled every Tuesday through the end of June – so it was like a punch in the stomach! At that point I had lost 22.5 pounds, and was a little discouraged from a plateau. I REALLY needed the dietician and doctor to tell me I was doing the right things and to keep it up.

Capture

Unfortunately, that was not to be. But rather than destroy all the good I had done, I soldiered on alone, sticking to the same principles that had brought me along so far. The next week the plateau was crossed, and I again started losing. Last weekend, I realized I had lost 28 pounds, and I had been sticking to the diet obsessively for over 100 days. So I made a conscious decision to go off the strict rules of the diet for one week only.

Last week I kept my calories around 1600 a day (not excessive), but I loosened up on the kinds of food and the amount of exercise I was doing.

I satisfied my craving for Japanese food,

Capture

barbecue, corn on the cob (the first of the season), green beans cooked with bacon, pizza,

Capture

Olive Garden zuppa Toscana,

Capture

and apples with peanut butter!

Capture

And I only did my Tai Chi class for exercise. It was a lot of fun, and I didn’t do any damage to the weight already lost.

Today, I climbed back on the wagon and hit the gym to burn 200 calories on the recumbent cross trainer, and do my weight work. I’m also only eating 1300 calories, and I’m sticking to low carbohydrates.

I plan to give myself permission to have another week’s eating vacation after another 100 days. That should be about the time of my birthday, so I might even have a small piece of birthday cake. 🙂

Capture

Responses

  1. Wonderful for you . . . taking control over your eating plan.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

