Posted by: abbiewatters | November 1, 2014

Provide

As you may remember, my one word for the year is “Provide”.

No sooner had I posted my last monthly update extoling the virtues of the Oregon Ducks than they lost to Arizona and dropped out of the top 10. Oh, well, never mind, they’ve won since then and have PROVIDED me and all their other fans with some spectacular football. I’m almost afraid to mention it, though, since they are playing Stanford – their arch nemesis – this afternoon. #GoDucks

We had a workshop at the church early in the month, where we created Soul Collages. It was very interesting, and I may pursue it further in the future as it PROVIDES much insight and spiritual encouragement.

Capture

Big Al and I took a four-day vacation to Victoria, British Columbia. We had spectacular weather and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. It PROVIDED me with new walking opportunities, and lots of interesting sights to see. We took the Black Ball Ferry across the Strait of Juan da Fuca, so we had the car with us and were able to explore more of Vancouver Island than we would have otherwise been able to if we hadn’t had the car. We took a drive along the coast,

IMG_0768

visited Fisherman’s Wharf,

DSCN0783

where we met several harbor seals.

DSCN0784

We took a ride around the harbor in a water taxi,

DSCN0798

and had High Tea at the Empress Hotel.

DSCN0833

DSCN0838

The next day, we drove up the island to Duncan, which claims to be the Totem Pole capital of Vancouver Island. They certainly had a lot of them. They were scattered throughout the town,

DSCN0882

as well as being clustered in the park in the center of town.

DSCN0900

From there we caught a little ferry across the Saanich Inlet to Butchart Gardens.

DSCN0925

The gardens were spectacular, and well worth the drive.

DSCN0929

We spent the rest of the month pretty quietly. I continued to maintain my 10,000 steps a day on my FitBit, and continued to diet. I even lost another couple of pounds, although I will admit that the High Tea did set me back a little.

I’m still PROVIDING leadership at church on the Session and on the Committee on Ministry for the Presbytery.

Big Al and I have begun a new creative writing class (he has taken it for the past couple of years, but there hadn’t been space in the class for me, until now.)

The rains have started, so I’ve moved my exercise into the Wellness Center. I’ll admit the scenery isn’t nearly as good inside as outside, but I press on.

I can hardly believe it’s almost time for Thanksgiving, and before we know it it will be Christmas, and then the year will be over. During this coming month, I will remember to look around me with gratitude. I give thanks daily for my life here. May your lives be as happy and joy-filled as mine.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

