Posted by: abbiewatters | February 10, 2015

Thankful Tuesday

I got my 2014 copy of TurboTax yesterday. As odd as it might sound, I’m thankful to do my taxes. I’m even happy to pay my fair share of taxes. I understand that I have no desire to pave the street in front of my house. I really don’t want to hire a private security guard (since I would have to if we didn’t have police). I might not approve of all the wars (in fact I DON’T approve of most war), but I really don’t want to have to hire my own mercenary to protect me. And don’t even get me started on paying school taxes. I know I don’t know enough to educate my own children well, and a better educated society at large can only be beneficial to me.

I believe, with Oliver Wendell Holmes, that taxes are the price we pay for living in a civilized society. I tend to be really upset when people who are not politically active complain about their taxes. If they dislike what the money is being used for they should educate themselves and then elect people who think like they do to change the destination of their money. Otherwise, shut up.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

