Posted by: abbiewatters | January 1, 2016

Quest for Mindfulness

I’ve come to realize in the past couple of years that one of the keys to my contentment and happiness is to become centered – to begin to view the world and my relationship with it from a place of mindfulness. I know that’s quite a buzzword these days, but I believe it’s also the truth.

010b8f1eb0418901177c55bb8fb8e354b0563b4a74

I’ll be concentrating on developing patterns and habits that make it easy to reach the position of stillness and awareness that can change my frantic striving. I’ve come to realize that my life, and the lives of people around me are improved by my contentment – and contentment comes when I appreciate the things and people around me, and remember that I have more than enough of everything to live my life fully. There are small things I can do to improve the world around me, but, other than prayer, I can’t solve the major ills of this age. I remember the serenity prayer

God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,

The courage to change the things I can,

And the wisdom to know the difference.

I’ll be using the writings and encouragement of many people – including the daily common lectionary, this website, and this app.

Responses

  1. Happy New Year, Love. This will be quite an undertaking….thank you for sharing. I will be following it with great interest.
    I love that serenity prayer….it was featured on the bulletin of our church when we had my mother’s funeral service, It has become a mantra for me ever since,
    May you and Al continue the contentmnent out there in the new home, and keep the newsy items coming! We share your happiness.
    Love….Ann & David

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

