Posted by: abbiewatters | March 5, 2016

February Review

Here were my intentions at the beginning of the year. Let me review how I’ve done, so far. (I know, I know, it’s the 5th of March already, but this is for February.)

RESOLVE (or better yet – INTENTIONS)

  • Finish losing the weight I need to by eating right (lo-cal, lo-carb, wine only on special occasions) and strength training 3 days a week.

I did much better with my diet in February. I had one major splurge when we went to Portland for Valentine’s Day and I ate my weight in goodies at Fogo de Chao.

Capture

I INTEND to keep on eating decently in March.

I did manage to give up wine, except for the occasional glass when I’m eating out with a group, or at a party.

I still haven’t done any strength training yet this year, but again, I INTEND to.

Capture

Still not much movement on the weight front, but I am holding steady, even with the occasional splurge.

  • Walk regularly, either alone or with a group, at least 4 days a week for at least 5 miles.

As far as exercise goes, my FitBit was again the saving of me. I managed to log over 220 miles in February (most of it on the NuStep) because the rain kept coming.

  •  Grow enough vegetables to enjoy and to help supply the food bank.

I got my onions planted in my garden, and I’m doing a decent job of keeping the weeds at bay. Only about six weeks before I can put in tomatoes, squash, green beans and peppers.

IMG_0406

  • Travel to see Bill and his family (for Ian’s graduation from High School), but don’t focus solely on that. Take several short trips as well.
    • To Pacific Beach
    • To Portland – DONE – As I said above, we went to Portland for Valentine’s Day weekend. We rode the train down, spent the night in the Residence Inn – Pearl District, rode the streetcars around town, met my cousins for a drink before dinner, and splurged for dinner at Fogo de Chao. An excellent time was had by all!
    • To Spokane to look for genealogical information
    • To the San Juan Islands (because we’ve wanted to return and keep saying “We can do that anytime”, but we never do.)
    • To Victoria, BC

I also have another trip planned to Portland in the middle of June for the General Assembly of the Presbyterian Church (USA). I will be volunteering and will go down for the whole week. What a gift that it will be held on the West Coast. It probably won’t be out here again in my lifetime.

  • Keep up with Headspace and Tai Chi.

I’ve done a decent job keeping up with Headspace. I finished up the pack on Relationships, and I’m almost finished with the set on Creativity. I will start Happiness in March.

I haven’t been as regular with Tai Chi, unfortunately. I still make it to class at least once a week, but my church meetings seem to fall on Thursdays and that’s when one of my classes is. I am trying to schedule around it, though.

That’s where I am and what I’ve been doing for the past month. I hope I keep up with you better in March.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

