Posted by: abbiewatters | October 25, 2016

Surviving Versus Thriving: The psychic costs of racism

Chapter 26 of Waking Up White: and finding myself in the story of RACE by Debbie Irving

Think about a time when you were treated unfairly. What do you recall of your emotions (e.g., anger, resentment, anxiety) and your physical state (e.g., elevated heart rate, stomach clenching, sweating)? How did you respond to the unfair treatment?

I don’t remember exactly, but I do know that I shut down. I’ve said before that I have a horror of not being approved of, and criticism – whether earned or not – makes me retreat into my shell. I’m already an introvert, and after an experience like this I’m even more reluctant to engage with anyone.

If you would like to join me as I blog about my experiences with race, please read the book. It was life changing for me.

Leave a Reply

Categories

