Posted by: abbiewatters | November 1, 2016

Perception and Fear: The first time I saw myself as white – and scary

Chapter 33 of Waking Up White: and finding myself in the story of RACE by Debbie Irving

Imagine a country inhabited by two groups of people. The groups can’t stand each other. This is equal-opportunity prejudice. Now imagine that your group runs the bank, the government, the schools, the hospitals, and the media. Your group has the power to make your opinions the dominant ones while creating policies and practices that marginalize the other group. List the feelings and thoughts that might develop by being a part of the group in power. Then list the feelings and thoughts that might develop by being a part of the group not in power.

It’s easy for me to imagine being part of the group that’s in power because that’s what I am. It’s easy to think of the other group as whiny, and lazy, and nagging, especially when they complain about not having as much as my group has.

On the other hand, I have no problem understanding how put down the other group may feel. They may feel like second-class citizens, with all the attending resentment. The miracle to me, is how/why they have not been screaming and throwing things. I know I would have been.

If you would like to join me as I blog about my experiences with race, please read the book. It was life changing for me.

Leave a Reply

Categories

