Posted by: abbiewatters | November 18, 2016

Solidarity and Accountability: Sharing the burden of racism

Chapter 42 of Waking Up White: and finding myself in the story of RACE by Debbie Irving

Think of an issue in your own community (town, school, workplace, religious organization) that has been raised by people of color. How would you approach people who are focused on the problem? How would you go about being in solidarity with them? What could you offer?

Tacoma has, as part of its City Government, an Office of Equity and Human Rights that has been in existence since February 2015. It was only when I just googled “Tacoma – Race Relations” that I learned that it exists. As for as I know (and I’m reasonably plugged in to what’s going on), they haven’t done, or been doing much. I have attended candidate forums during the last two city elections, and I had never heard of this department.

I am connected to Peace Community Center, which is run by a Lutheran Church in the part of the city where many people of color live. But other than that, I don’t have any connection with racial minorities. Part of that is the part of the city where I live, and part of it is my own inertia.

Since I am a retiree, I don’t even have the connections that would otherwise come from having children in public school. I need to get out more.

If you would like to join me as I blog about my experiences with race, please read the book. It was life changing for me.

Leave a Reply

Categories

