Five things that made me happy today – 4/19/20

We can only be said to be alive in those moments when our hearts are conscious of our treasures.

Thornton Wilder

1. It was bright and sunny after breakfast with clouds threatened in the afternoon, so I took a short walk around the campus before going to church on Facebook Live. Then after lunch I took another walk around campus in the opposite direction before my Zoom call with the sibs. The staff left the pinwheels they had put out along the parade route on Friday and they were still whirling in the breeze, even after the rain yesterday. I’m just a kid about pinwheels and whirly-gigs.

2. While I was waiting for church to start, the doorbell rang, and there was a neighbor with a box of donuts for us. I’m continually amazed at the kindness of people.

3. The sermon this morning was about Thomas, who we call Doubting. But the preacher said he wasn’t so much doubting as pragmatic and vulnerable. He wanted to know the facts, and then he could deal with those facts once he knew them. But he was also vulnerable because he was willing to admit that he wasn’t sure.

4. For lunch today, I went to Odd Fellas and picked up Cottage Pie for Big Al. He loves things like that and it’s not my cup of tea. I’m happy that there’s some place I can get it for him, and I don’t have to pretend to like it. I got KFC three piece meal, all dark original, with mashed potatoes and coleslaw. I felt like I was back at Church Night Suppers. Al’s not fond of fried chicken, and it’s like mother’s milk to me. We’re both happy campers.

5. The threatened clouds never materialized so the afternoon ended warm and sunny. I had a great visit with my sisters on Zoom. We talked so long we got abruptly cut off after 40 minutes, but my sister who organized the call just started a new one, so we picked right up where we left off. An hour and twenty minutes – but who’s counting.

How about you? What made you happy today?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.