My Confession

Presbyterian Women are studying the Beatitudes this year. Following the Processus Confessionis found in the Presbyterian Women Horizon’s study guide for the Beatitudes I wrote this confession about the first two Beatitudes.

Greatly honored are you who are destitute, for yours is the kingdom of God. Shame on you who are affluent, for you have received your consolation. (Luke 6 – the Aymer translation)

Greatly honored are the mourners, for they will be comforted. (Matthew 5 – the Aymer translation) Shame on you who are laughing now, for you will weep. (Luke 6 – the Aymer translation)

  1. I believe God honors the poor and destitute in the world, and will not forget the injustices of the rich when they make the lives of the poor even worse.
  2. I believe God honors those who mourn, calling my attention to the injustices and ills of my society, my country, and my world. This merciful God is comforting the mourners, and will deal harshly with those who mock them.
  3. I see, in the Faithful Budget campaign, an attempt to influence our government to remember the needs of the least, the last, and the lost in this country and around the world.
  4. I see, in the Occupy movement, a broad spectrum of society, mourning the loss of justice, equality, and hope, as the rich grow ever richer, and the poor are mocked and put down.
  5. I understand that I have not always given sacrificially to the poor, both in my community and throughout the world.
  6. I know I own stock in some of the big corporations through my IRA and mutual funds. I help support the banks and corporations who, after taking public funds, have NOT dealt fairly or honorably with their customers and the public at large.
  7. In order to live faithfully, I will increase my donations of food and goods to the local food bank, and to the outreach closet at the church. I will send e-mails and make phone calls to my representatives in the government to protest any attempt to balance the budget on the backs of the poor, both in our country and around the world.
  8. I have removed my money from the largest and most predatory banks, and will make a conscious effort to purchase goods from smaller, local firms who do not engage in exploitative manufacturing. I will spread the word about movements for justice, and I will refrain from poking fun at political figures on all sides.

I offer this as part of this month’s Synchroblog.

Marta Layton – Fear Leads to Anger. Anger Leads to hate …

Kathy Escobar – Pawn Shops, Empty Refrigerators, The Long Hill Up

Carol Kuniholm – Wondering About Wealth

Glenn Hager – Shrinking The Gap

Jeremy Myers – Wealth Distribution

Liz Dyer – The First Step Is Admitting There Is A Problem

Ellen Haroutunian – Economic Inequality: Coming Back To Our Senses

K.W. Leslie – Wealth, Christians, and Justice

Abbie Watters – My Confession

Steve Hayes – Obscenity

 

8 thoughts on “My Confession

  1. Pingback: Shrinking the Gap | Glenn Hager

  2. Pingback: Shrinking the Gap | Glenn Hager

  3. Pingback: pawn shops, empty refrigerators & the long hill up | kathy escobar.

  4. Thank you for some really practical ideas about how to move toward justice. If you come up with any ways to shift IRAs or mutual funds, I’d love to know. And thanks for calling attention to the Faithful Budget – I hadn’t heard of that, and look forward to finding out more about it.

    Like

  5. Pingback: Shrinking the Gap « breathe

  6. Pingback: The First Step Is Admitting There Is A Problem « Grace Rules Weblog

  7. Pingback: Link List for February Synchroblog – Extreme Economic Inequality « synchroblog

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.