Mulling…

I know it’s been a while since I’ve posted here. It hasn’t been because I didn’t have anything to say. It’s been because I maybe had too much to say.

It started with the House of Representatives being so terribly short-sighted, nay, even unto say, MEAN, about the Farm Bill and the support of SNAP (formerly Food Stamps). You know hunger is one of my hot-button issues. Yesterday, Paul Krugman, in his column in the New York Times, put his finger on what I had been feeling.

Something terrible has happened to the soul of the Republican Party. We’ve gone beyond bad economic doctrine. We’ve even gone beyond selfishness and special interests. At this point we’re talking about a state of mind that takes positive glee in inflicting further suffering on the already miserable.

And then, just like the middle bars of a drum riff, came the stories of the out-of-bounds actions at the Texas legislature, when Capital Police searched women’s handbags and confiscated their feminine protection, because the senators were afraid they might be embarrassed by a demonstration using tampons and maxi pads during the draconian vote to further restrict women’s control over their own bodies and lives. As Rachel Hackenberg said on her blog,

It goes without saying that super plus tampons and winged pads pose a threat to the safety of Texas state senators. Licensed guns, on the other hand, are still acceptable accoutrement for those attending the legislative session.

And then, just to prove to me that the world had really gone mad, we got word of the verdict in Florida. I went to bed Saturday night with my stomach in knots and my eyes full of tears. I still don’t know what to make of a world that fears black boys, hates women, and mocks hungry children.

So I’m still mulling. I vacillate between discouragement, rage, sadness, and despair. I know – these are classic symptoms of grief.

And I grieve for our society, for my community, for the parents with dead children, for the parents who can’t feed their own children, for the woman who is forced to give birth to a child that she can’t afford to feed, for the political representative who would rather WIN than do what’s right.

And so, I haven’t been blogging recently.

Because I really don’t know what to say.

3 thoughts on “Mulling…

  1. Preaching to the choir, Cousin Dear…and excellent
    preachimg, I have to say. Keep thinking…think blogging…this too shall pass!!!

    Like

  2. I sit here as humbled and frustrates as you. I too, have not the words to express the just anger I feel towars these “leaders” and the effects of their actions on the masses. I see the faces of my children’s best friends, a 3 year old girl and a 7 year old boy, both of whom are directly effected by hunger, have both eaten at my table and both children of parents who are aging prematurely because of the heartbreak of not being able to feed their own children.
    At least we are in this together – together with these we love.
    Lord, have mercy. Lord, hear our prayers.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.