Connection – Addicted to the Buzz

For my birthday last week I got a FitBit Flex. If you’ve been following my diet reports and wanderings, you know I’ve lost almost 60 lbs in the last year and a half. It’s been slow, but pretty steady, and I’ve tried to exercise some each day. But until I got the FitBit, I didn’t really know how many calories I was burning.

Capture

This little baby counts my steps and, based on my weight, tells me how many calories I’m burning in a day. And it’s all connected wirelessly to my computer.

My other tool in this journey has been the program and apps from MyFitnessPal. By entering the food I eat every day, I get a pretty accurate calorie count and can pair it with my activity as reported by my FitBit.

Capture

And those two programs are connected wirelessly to give me a picture of where I am in my diet – every single minute of the day.

Now you may be thinking that’s way more trouble than it’s worth, but, for a many, many times failed dieter, they have been my saving grace.

One of the best things about these programs is that they help connect me to friends and acquaintances who are also struggling to improve their health and fitness with diet and exercise.

You may be wondering where the title of this post comes from. Well, when I reach my target number of steps for the day, the lovely little FitBit Flex on my wrist buzzes gently, and lights up five tiny lights. I’ve been known to walk around in circles (otherwise known as “pacing”) in the evening just waiting for the buzz. It is a super-satisfying sound and sensation that tells me I’ve done what I needed to do that day.

If you are interested in following my progress daily (although why you would be, I don’t know), you can follow my other site http://gettingseriousaboutmybody.wordpress.com. If you are struggling and want some support or encouragement, you can connect with me there or on either of the apps listed above, and we’ll cry together about how much we REALLY wanted that piece of birthday cake or about how the exercise equipment is kicking our butts.

This post is part of August’s Syncroblog. Check out all the posts.

Jerry Wirtley – Connection
Sara Quezada – Can You Really Know Someone In A Different Language?
Ford – Interindependence
Michael Donahoe – Connection
Minnow – Our Dis-Connect
Justin Steckbauer – Connection in Love, it’s what Life is all about!
Carol Kuniholm – Disengagement and Connection
Wesley Rostoll – Finding Jesus In Different Places
Doreen A Mannion – A bunny, a fawn and some geese walk into a bar …
Leah Sophia – Touch of Life
Karen “Charity” Aldrich – Wuv True Wuv
Abbie Watters – Connection – Addicted to the Buzz
Liz Dyer – Human Connection and the Power of Empathy

 

 

10 thoughts on “Connection – Addicted to the Buzz

  1. Pingback: Connection in Love, it’s what Life is all About | Liberty Community Online

  2. Visiting from the Synchroblog. Congrats on your health journey! Love the reminder of the positive boost connection can give us. It’s so much more fun to engage a community (even digital) than to power through some things on our own. Best of luck to you!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Interindependence | Ford's Words

  4. Pingback: Link List – August 2014 – “Connection” | synchroblog

  5. Pingback: Why Get Connected to God when He can’t be there for Me? - VisionHub : VisionHub

  6. Pingback: A Bunny, a Fawn, and Some Geese Walk into a Bar…. | Religious Refuse

  7. Pingback: Our Dis-connect | Minnowspeaks

  8. Pingback: Connection | Done with Religion

  9. Pingback: Human Connection and the Power of Empathy | Grace Rules Weblog

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.