Five things that made me happy today – 4/24/24

We take care of the future best by taking care of the present now. 

Jon Kabat-Zinn

1. After a couple of gloriously sunny days, the weather reverted to typical PNW skies – in the upper 40s and cloudy when I woke up. By mid afternoon the temperature had managed to rise to 52 deg, and a light rain began to fall.

2. I went over to the Wellness Center shortly after breakfast. My personal trainer was back after being out the first couple of days this week. He says he’s fully recovered. I hope he’s still fine by Friday when my next appointment is. He wants to try to schedule Al to keep working with him, now that he’s had a couple of sessions.

3. I fixed tunafish salad for lunch today. I reverted to Mama’s recipe instead of putting crushed pineapple and sweet relish in it like Al likes. I did it with minced celery, and onion, hard boiled egg, and Miracle Whip Lite. Al was okay with it made that way, and I have enough leftover for two more servings.

4. One of the local universities asked if some of their students could come and talk with some of the folks who live here. Al signed up and a nice young man who is working on his Bachelor’s degree in psychology came and visited with us for about an hour this afternoon. He is currently in the US Army, and working on getting his degree so he can be an officer. It worked out really well, because he and Al had a lot in common since Al rose to be an officer by getting his degree when he was in the Air Force.

5. The geese were back on the big lawn today. They are supposed to be afraid of the wolf cut-outs. I don’t think they are. The pair of Mallards was also back wandering around the campus.

How about you? What made you happy today?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.