In the News

Who are three people in history you admire most and why? (When I was making my list, I realized that the people I really admire are people who have touched me personally and currently. Historical figures don’t really impress me.)

  • Juliette Gordon Low – the founder of the Girl Scouts.

I was a Girl Scout for most of the first 35 years of my life, and I really appreciate the skills and responsibility I learned. That’s where I learned it was okay to fail, and that’s where I learned I was capable of functioning alone – without my family if I had to (not that I wanted to).

  • Ree Drummond – the Pioneer Woman.

She lives on a ranch, loves her family, cooks, blogs, home schools, gardens, and “works cattle.” She does it all! And she never takes herself too seriously.

  • Margaret Aymer Oget – Presbyterian minister and professor at the Interdenominational Theological Center in Atlanta.

She is a Greek and Latin scholar, a New Testament professor, an immigrant from the West Indies, and one of the most articulate, loving, and right-headed women I know. She is the author of the current Horizon‘s Bible Study for Presbyterian Women.

What have been the three biggest news events during your lifetime and why?

  • Man’s landing on the moon.

Because we reached for the stars, and got most of the way there. It gave me hope.

  • Watergate.

Because it marked my loss of innocence, and the beginning of my distrust of public figures.

  • 9/11.

Because it changed the country from an open and accepting society to something closed and selfish.

 

1 thought on “In the News

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.