Five things that made me happy today – 4/20/24

Happiness is not Joy. Joy is subversive. Joy happens in the midst of adversity. Joy is necessary to stay sane. 

Sarah Wiles

1. It was beautiful this morning – upper 40s – when I got up with a bright blue, cloudless sky. It’s not as warm here as it was in Arkansas, but I’m getting to see a second spring with rhododendrons and azaleas both approaching peak bloom. And the lilac has budding blooms on it. The high for the day was 70 around lunch time, then it changed drastically, and the temperature dropped like a stone with rain – temperature at 4:30 pm is 55 deg.

2. Alas…I got on the scale this morning for the first time since I started my great Eclipse Adventure. I managed to put on four pounds while I was away. I suppose I couldn’t have anticipated anything else – I ate everything in sight and enjoyed every minute of it, but it’s definitely time to start watching and logging my food again.

3. I went to Trader Joe’s and got my sausages and dark chocolate. While I was there I picked up a couple of little salads for us to have for lunch. Then I stopped on the way home to get the Safeway order that I made yesterday.

4. The afternoon was spent bringing my Quicken up to date so that it matches the bank. Three weeks of not booking anything meant I was ready to tear my hair out, but I persevered, and now I know how much money we have in the bank and how much there is in which account. I was even able to unscramble the VISA card that was compromised, and authorize the new one that was waiting for me when I got home.

5. The project for tomorrow afternoon is to figure out what is being paid automagically with the old credit card, and be sure to change the number for that. Lots of subscriptions and donations, etc.

How about you? What made you happy today?

4 thoughts on “Five things that made me happy today – 4/20/24

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.