Five things that made me happy today – 4/21/24

Change will not come if we wait for some other person, or if we wait for some other time. We are the ones we’ve been waiting for. We are the change that we seek. 

Barak Obama

1. Mid 40s when I got up but no more rain forecast, at least for today. We’ve had lots of sunshine – blue skies with scattered puffy white clouds all day. The high this afternoon was 57 deg.

2. My first task this morning after breakfast was to get my new Credit Card authorized to use with ApplePay. That wasted all the time I had between breakfast and church, but I got it accomplished.

3. Nice church service at First Presbyterian Church, Texarkana, Arkansas. They were hosting the 9-Towers Festival of Bell Ringers. There were folks there from several distant churches to help celebrate the 35th anniversary of the ring of 8 bells in FPC’s bell tower. They read the names of all the people who had dedicated bells. I got a little misty when they read my grandparents’ names. I remember when they bought and installed the bells.

4. We decided to drive over to Gig Harbor to the Moctezumas there for lunch. The food was just as good as the one on this side of the sound. Al had a couple of enchiladas, and I had Surf and Turf (skirt steak and bacon-wrapped shrimp). Tasty but not TexMex. I think Al was feeling a little left out reading about all the good Mexican food I had on my trip.

5. By Tuesday it’s supposed to warm up enough for me to go sit out on the back porch and listen to some Pacific Northwest birds. I’ve been missing the Fish Crow that chatted with me in Texarkana.

How about you? What made you happy today?

2 thoughts on “Five things that made me happy today – 4/21/24

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.