Five things that made me happy today – 4/6/24

Authenticity is the daily practice of letting go of who we think we’re supposed to be and embracing who we are.

Brene Brown

1. It was in the mid 50s and clear early this morning. The high this afternoon was in the low 80s, and I enjoyed sitting outside on the deck and later on the front porch under the ceiling fan.

2. Betty spent most of the morning planting the flowers she got yesterday. They look so pretty. We also got a full load of clothes washed so I’ll have choices instead of whatever pops to the top of the drawer.

3. Niece and great-niece joined us for lunch at a local hamburger joint. The hamburger patties were hand-formed, the buns were fresh, you could choose your condiments, and the onion rings were breaded in the restaurant. I could tell that the clientele were local regulars. After lunch we walked two stores down the way to a bakery, and got dessert. White chocolate/macadamia nut and shortbread pecan cookies for me, Betty got cookies, and my niece and her daughter got cupcakes.

4. I spent a couple of hours on the back deck listening to and watching the birds. There was a mockingbird who went through his whole repertoire several times – it made it hard for my “identification program” to figure out which bird I was listening to. Then, the goldfinches came in a whole flock. There was also a fish crow who screamed and hollered at something – he must have been in the top of one of the trees, but I never could spot him.

5. I will have been here a week tomorrow morning. It’s gone by so fast, and it’s like I never left. We’ve taken several rides around town and some things have changed while others are just the same. For a nomad like me, I often wonder what does “home” even mean. Is there something in the geography of a place that gets into your genes at birth? Is it only the people who were there or who are there now? All I know is, there’s a feeling in my bones and the pit of my stomach that says Texarkana is home for me.

How about you? What made you happy today?