Five things that made me happy today – 4/14/24

The world will not be destroyed by those who do evil, but by those who watch them without doing anything.

Albert Einstein

1. It was in the low 60s when I woke up (still in Texarkana). Once the morning clouds burned off the temperature got up to the mid 80s, and the humidity was higher. Still nice though.

2. The reason I’m still here is a long story. We were standing at the station at 8:30 pm, ready to board, when the train roared by without stopping. You may remember they had sent me an email several days ago, saying that they might do that, and they gave me several options of other places to board. I called for clarification and the agent said, “No, we still show that the Texarkana station is your stop.” I called again yesterday morning to reconfirm, and the agent assured me that Texarkana was good to go. The app and the website both continued to update arrival and departure time in Texarkana. But nobody told the engineer apparently, and there was no employee at the station for me to ask when we arrived. I came home and called Amtrak, and that agent was able to rebook me to leave on the 15th from Hope. <sigh>

3. When I got up this morning, before I ate breakfast, I called my #1 son to tell him I wouldn’t be there today, but please pick me up at the train station on Tuesday. Then I called the Marriott Residence in Chicago and moved my reservation from tonight to Tuesday night.

4. I didn’t go to church today, although Betty did. I just couldn’t face going over all the woes of last night with the folks who thought I’d left yesterday. After she got home we went to Cracker Barrel for dinner. I had pot roast, turnip greens, green beans, and corn with a biscuit and a corn muffin. Good, old home cooking.

5. To add to my woes of yesterday, I checked my bank account, and there were two completely unauthorized charges for a total of almost $800.00. I called USAA immediately. Luckily the charges were still in pending status, and they won’t charge me. The bank canceled that card and ordered me a new one which should be in Tacoma when I get home. I’m going to be working off of my Debit card, but I was able to move money from Savings to Checking, so that should be okay.

BONUS: While we were waiting for the train, we looked up in the sky and saw Starlink going by.

How about you? What made you happy today?