Five things that made me happy today – 4/9/24

For God the line between life and death disappears entirely.

Sarah Wiles

1. It was in the low 60s when I finally gave up and got up this morning at 5:45 am. Storms have banged and crashed around all night long. Amazingly, we never lost power (TBTG). The temperature this afternoon never got above 68 deg. I feel like I’m back in the Pacific Northwest with the rain and the cooler temperatures.

2. A neighbor came by because we had power and she charged up her phone while I ate breakfast. She also brought pictures of the neighborhood so we could see some of the trees that were down.

3. Betty had to do some business for the church, so I fixed Mark Bittman’s onion soup for our lunch while she was out. It takes quite a while to slowly melt the onions so that took most of the morning. It sure was good even if I do say so as shouldn

4. After lunch we rode around and looked at some more of the downed trees.

5. We finished off this restful day with some more cribbage. I’m leading, but Betty is getting the hang of what to lead and what to put in the crib.

How about you? What made you happy today?