Five things that made me happy today – 4/16/24

The more you pause, the more you will progress.

Krin van Tattenhov

1. It was in the upper 60s when we pulled in to St. Louis having made up the time we were behind last night. It was in the lower 70 in Chicago when I got off the train. Thunderstorms are threatening, but I don’t care, I’m safe and sound in the Marriott Residence Inn.

2. Good breakfast of pancakes and sausage patties with sugar-free syrup, and orange juice while we sat in the train at the station in St. Louis.

3. They served lunch about 11:30. I had the Mexican casserole that I had two Saturdays ago for Dinner. It was very tasty, but I imagine it would get old if I traveled with “Flex” meals very often. I would have preferred a sandwich at noon.

4. We pulled into Chicago Union Station about 20 minutes early (about 2:20), and Ray and Kathy were at the Metropolitan Lounge waiting for me. Because it was so early, I couldn’t check in at the Marriott until after 3:00. We went to a sushi restaurant that Ray is really fond of. I had a very tasty salmon roll, but I was really too full to enjoy it.

5. When we finished they brought me to my hotel and went home. Ray will come and pick me up tomorrow morning and deliver me back to the Metropolitan Lounge at Union Station. I’ll happily wait there for a Red Cap to take me to my little home on the Empire Builder.

How about you? What made you happy today?